Search News:

Musikfest Berlin: Echoes of Venice
Source: Berliner Festspiele


“The sound of bells that resonate and reverberate through Venice, permeating its waters. And various echoes rise up rebound across the buildings, and suddenly, a rhythm joins in. It is truly special and unforgettable.” 
Luigi Nono

Venice is a frequent reference point in this year’s Musikfest programme. In 1613 Claudio Monteverdi was appointed chapel master at the Basilica of San Marco. It was in Venice that he composed his two operas “Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria” and “L’incoronazione di Poppea”, which were performed very successfully in the first commercial opera houses that opened in Venice. The English Baroque Soloists, the Monteverdi Choir and international soloists will perform these two operas at the Musikfest Berlin in a semi-staged concert conducted by Sir John Eliot Gardiner.
Since Luchino Visconti added the Adagietto from Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony to his images of Venice in “Death in Venice”, this piece of music has been linked to the morbid atmosphere of that city. At the Musikfest Berlin the Konzerthausorchester Berlin will perform this piece, conducted by Ivàn Fischer. 
The unique geography of the city, its soundscape, as well as the Venetian music of the 16th century, have fascinated Luigi Nono and influenced his compositional work. Two works by the Venetian will be played at the Musikfest Berlin: firstly, “Il canto sospeso” with Mojca Erdmann as soloist, the SWR Symphonieorchester and Vokalensemble, and secondly “Julius Fučik”, played by the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in its premiere concert with new chief conductor Vladimir Jurowski.

Musikfest Berlin 
31 August to 18 September 2017 
Philharmonie and other venues

Enter your email below to subscribe to our daily newsletter.
Already a member? Login here

About Us ~ Contact Us ~ Disclaimer ~ Terms & Conditions ~ Privacy Policy

© Classical Music News
® all rights reserved