Live concert from 20 March: Kirill Petrenko conducts Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov
Source: Berliner Philharmoniker

A very special concert

Live concert from 20 March: Kirill Petrenko conducts Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture 
Sergei Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2 in E minor, op. 27

Sun, 4 April 2021, 19:00 (Berlin)
New York: 13:00 / Tokyo: Mon, 5 April 2021, 02:00

Mon, 5 April 2021, 13:00 (Berlin)
New York: 07:00 / Tokyo: 20:00

15 min before the concert and during the intermission: Emmanuel Pahud in conversation with Daniel Stabrawa

On 20 March, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Kirill Petrenko gave a concert in front of an audience of 1000 for the first time in a year – a particularly emotional event. Kirill Petrenko conducted Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet and Rachmaninov’s yearning Second Symphony. Not only the audience, but also the Berliner Zeitungwas thrilled by the “unbelievably beautiful sound of the Berliner Philharmoniker, noble and expressive at the same time”. Learn more about the “Perspektive Kultur” project here.

Photo: Stephan Rabold


Discover the Digital Concert Hall
for the special price of


instead of €14.90 per month

The offer is valid until 5 April 2021. Subscriptions can be cancelled at any time.


Suddenly Messiah

Our Easter recommendation: Karajan conducts Brahms’s »German Requiem« in Salzburg

“This man is fated to give expression to the times in the highest and most ideal manner.” Imagine the astonishment of 20-year-old Johannes Brahms, who discovers in the Neue Zeitschrift für Musik that Robert Schumann is announcing him to the music world like a Messiah! The prophecy put enormous pressure on Brahms, and it was not until 14 years later that he would have his breakthrough with A German Requiem. The “German” in the title could also be replaced by “human”, according to the composer, because above all, his Requiem is about giving consolation – to all people.


Experience a highlight in the performance history of A German Requiem in the Digital Concert Hall: Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker and the Wiener Singverein at the 1978 Salzburg Easter Festival. Brahms himself had conducted the venerable choir about a century earlier.

Photo (Karajan): Siegfried Lauterwasser

Explore the archive at Easter

Find without searching – our playlists present you with works familiar and new from the concert archive of the Digital Concert Hall.

Popular Classical and Romantic works 

Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms, Tchaikovsky – the works of the great composers of the 18th and 19th centuries inspire us to this day. Our selection offers you a stimulating foray through the Classical and Romantic periods.

Familiar works heard anew: musical metamorphoses

The idea of presenting something existing in a new form has given rise to an exciting variety of connections in the course of music history. Listen to well-known pieces in new arrangements, homages and parodies in our playlist.


Devices and technology

The Digital Concert Hall is the online concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Here, their concerts are broadcast live and are also available as recordings in a video archive a few days later. The Digital Concert Hall is available on televisions, computers, smartphones, tablets and streaming devices. Its partner is Internet Initiative Japan. More at


© AirTransportNews
® all rights reserved